Any MSTie woodworkers? I'm looking for a project.

I’m a woodworker and I love doing projects in my garage. However, I’m stumped for a MST3K-themed thing to make from wood. Anybody ever seen such a thing or have an idea?

3 Likes

Hi Not Tv’s Frank!

Good to see you here buddy. :slight_smile:

I’m not a fine woodworker by any means, but I do like doing a bit of construction and projects of the like (side note, the amount of things you can fix with wood trim is amazing, haha).

If you’re looking for some ideas, I always thought it would be cool to have a wood MST 3K style lampshade. Possibly something that looks like the planet logo, silhouettes, or even characters (the image in the link below lends itself to characters given the color scheme!).

This would have to be like a pendant lampshade or something:

https://www.homedit.com/11-ingenious-diy-lighting-fixtures-to-try-out-this-week-end/

If you wanted to get SUPER crazy, I also thought it would be amazing to have a wood reproduction of the SOL as a coffee table with a piece of glass over it. This would be like three feet long, so not something small.

Just some thoughts. I’ve got other ideas too, but wasn’t sure what you were looking for.

4 Likes

All the ideas! That’s what I’m looking for. Thank you, I appreciate it. Not gonna lie, a wood SOL model would be lots of fun. I might have to grab some stills from the show and The Movie.

3 Likes

I picked up a replica “movie sign” console from the Satellite of Love bridge. It’s made of wood and painted silver with three fake lights - red, blue-ish, yellow. Perfect world, the lights would be functional, but still a neat collectible.

So, any set or prop replica like that could be fun. Maybe film reels from the SciFi era? Coin holders for the Kickstarter backer coins, Rifftrax coins, etc.? Wood and glass/plexiglass display boxes for MST3K Funko Pops, upcoming music box, etc.?

Best to you, and avoid the splinters!

2 Likes