Could the Gizmoplex be open source?

Based on today’s update, I loved that there was a focus on using the funds more towards the actual content of Season 13 than the development of the Gizmoplex. But it got me thinking, what if the Gizmoplex took a open source approach, maybe not from the initial start, but after it’s launched. It would be really neat for the community of Mysties who have programming experience to help support the Gizmoplex and volunteer their time not just in beta testing, but fixing the bugs they find. It would pull funds towards the development of content and would allow the gifts and talents of Mysties to make a platform for their love of MST3K.

I’m pretty new to open source, so I may be missing something, but what do you all think?

2 Likes

I don’t know much about open source at all, but would that mean that anyone could change anything they wanted to whenever or just that they could work on coding and have access to the site coding and make suggestions?

1 Like

Good question. Typically “open source” projects that have their codebase open for external users to contribute to fixing bugs or adding new content would mean using something like GitHub, where the code is hosted and available publically for anyone to pull the code, but the “master” code that is the code used for the app/site is protected by whoever is over the github account. If someone wanted to fix a bug or add to the site/app, it has to be approved by the owner of the GitHub account, or anyone who has permission given by the owner.

It does require some maintenance, obviously, but just like this forum, if we had volunteers and different levels of users, the community could manage the code base and protect the app/site in the process.

5 Likes