D&D help

So i have never played a pen and paper rpg but somehow my youngest daughter got interested in D&D. We bought her a little starter kit but she is having a hard time figuring the game out and I am not a whole lot of help.
Anyone with helpful tips or online resources to walk a complete noob through getting a grip on this game?

4 Likes

I honestly wouldn’t have used D&D for a starter for RPGs. It’s pretty complex, especially for a kid. You might look into Dungeon World, which is a lot simpler. It’s also only $10 for a digital copy.

3 Likes

That depends on what age we’re talking about. Under 10 and I’ll give you a list of games specifically tailored for that crowd. Pre-teen and I’d give a list of rules to just forget about and try a simple pre published adventure, teenaged I would say just jump in, make mistakes, follow the advice in the books and don’t sweat the small stuff.

I think I would need to know what issues she’s getting stuck on before I can get my know-it-all hat on.

3 Likes

This.

2 Likes

Honestly, it’s super easy if you don’t sweat the rules. Not kidding. Have her map out some simple ideas and play through a few sessions so she can see what it is she needs to know. If she’s playing with her parents and/or (supportive) siblings, and everyone is being patient and helpful, the rules become a LOT less abstract.

6 Likes

Seconding moviegique’s suggestion - it’d probably be more fun if you put aside the nuts & bolts rules to start. While there are a lot of defined rules, as a DM, you can choose which ones to use. Maybe in your first game with your daughter, you can just use the basic skill check rule (e.g. roll a d20 and compare result vs. ability score), and even then, only call for it when you feel it’s necessary (e.g. climb onto a table? no skill check needed; scale a 10’ high wall while being chased? ask for a dexterity check).