Fair Use Riffing? (A follow up to the film rights discussion)

@Lesley and everyone! I have no idea how I missed this earlier post (“Hey pals, it’s time for another IN DEPTH update, this time looking at the thrilling and not-at-all dull world of acquiring movie rights! Check it out and let me know what you think.)

However, it is one that is related to my professional work and my fandom of MST3K for years! (I am a copyright lawyer, librarian, and author working on copyright scholarship). Forgive my long post… but I wanted to share the beginnings of a draft article on this very topic that might be of interest – and have fun too! The article is much longer – looking at licensing, public domain, and such – but here, I extracted the part where I explain modern fair use interpretation through the lens of Mitchell!

(I realize this is the opposite of the “get the film rights” and “other considerations” post, but thought it might be of interest to this community to hear about other areas of copyright beyond licensing)

Now, I have always wondered about the permission/license vs. utilizing fair use for riffing episodes. The last twenty years of fair use law has seen a definitive shift - non-profits, for profits, educational, media, journalism, Broadway, Google(!) - and many, many more - employ fair use all the time. (Google Images copies and indexes the entire internet everyday and presents us with millions of images – 100% legal under fair use!)

And, the notion of transformative fair use (as made the law of the land by the U.S. Supreme Court in Campbell v. Acuff-Rose Music, Inc. , 510 U.S. 569 (1994)) [Google Scholar] has made the thought of riffing and other comedic uses under fair use so interesting.

But first, let’s make a ground floor here for our path to fair use riffing and dispel any fair use myths. Here’s the basics of fair use law: