Fellow Musicians!!

Wow, lot of new faces here. I thought about starting this topic for a while, and the influx of people joining clinched it.

I would like to say greetings to my fellow musicians! I’m seeing a lot of musician references from quite a few of you, so I wanted to start a topic for us. I’m not putting any limitations on style of music you prefer, what instrument you play or skill level, as I feel we’re a very inclusive bunch.

Who wants to start?

6 Likes

I play bass mainly, and never ever ever miss going to Ohio Valley Filk Fest—the only reason I wasn’t there in person last year was because it was held online (so no one was there in person) thanks to the plague, and I haven’t missed going since at least 1991. I’m not a professional but I have fun. Other instruments are keys, rhythm guitar and theremin.

4 Likes

I’m a fair to middling bass guitar player, and I was pretty good at tin whistle until I moved in with someone who couldn’t stand the sound of it. :woman_shrugging: And I can sing okay as long as I stay in my range (contralto). Also decently competent at writing parodies on the fly.

My greatest musical gift / curse is perfect pitch. I have lived to regret it. :joy:

5 Likes

Another bass player here! Played bar gigs for a while up until a few years ago. I also play guitar–actually played guitar for many years before picking up bass.

I also build guitar pedals as a hobby, and I’ve dabbled in amp making.

3 Likes

I’ve played and wrote music since I was a wee lad. I’ve played solo and with several bands, even had a couple tracks make it on local radio in Nashville - though I never broke nationally, the thrill of that was beyond words (the first to play it, Natalie the Token Rock chick - she was amazing, she’s not at that station anymore, but I believe is still involved with musical endeavors.)