How Joel Hodgson Beat Netflix And Saved His Show, 'Mystery Science Theater 3000'

Hey all, as you can probably tell from my username I am a writer. Currently, I have a gig writing celebrity news and listicles, although for the record my goal is to one day write fiction, essays, and poetry for a living. Anyway, I convinced my editors to let me write an article about Joel and the creation of the Gizmoplex. If yall would click, read it, and circulate the URL (i don’t check FB or Twitter anymore) I’d really appreciate it. I want to see if we can make this my first viral article. Side note, if anyone here has the hook up to printers or publishers hmu, I’m also working on my first chapbook and I have some other projects I’d like to get off the ground but I don’t have many connections yet. Thanks fellow MSTIES!!!

33 Likes

Pretty nice!

10 Likes

Best review I could have asked for!

2 Likes

You know he’s legit because he uses insider jargon.

4 Likes

–Super fan home game–

What’s wrong with this sentence from the article:

It next found a home on Comedy Central and later on SyFy.

3 Likes

They made me take a bunch of stuff out to keep in under 1000 words fwiw

2 Likes

:upside_down_face:

1 Like

I would suggest that a comic with multiple Letterman and SNL appearances isn’t “small-time,” but other than that great read!

3 Likes

Perhaps he meant “part time”. Because, we all know that Joel was a stand-up comedian by day, but at night he was… Agent J.

4 Likes

Great article! I love when pieces about cult classic media are written by a fan, not just a writer who did research on the fans

6 Likes

Well, it was the Comedy Channel when they first got on there, wasn’t it? And I know it was Scifi, not that horribly spelled SyFy when they were there. (I always said that they changed the spelling to indicate that they weren’t really showing scifi content anymore. :slight_smile: )

2 Likes

MST has become The Show That Wouldn’t Die. This will be its fifth version!

4 Likes