MST3K IN DEPTH: The Wild World of Movie Rights

Hey pals, it’s time for another IN DEPTH update, this time looking at the thrilling and not-at-all dull world of acquiring movie rights! Check it out and let me know what you think.

patton oswalt laughing GIF

30 Likes

I’m actually really interested in the copyright issues! I would love to see a list of movies that can’t be done, mostly so I could stop pining and hoping that one day I might see them on MST3k. (See, e.g., SHAKMA!)

16 Likes

So good, thank you @Lesley! I studied intellectual property for a semester in college back in the (mumble-mutters)s, and it’s a strange combination of interesting and awful. The awful part comes in when rights-holders obstruct or hurt creative people who want to do cool things. It’s kind of a shame about the public domain… it’s not like a thing becomes demonstrably public domain. I imagine that to use a public domain film involves an exhaustive search to prove that it isn’t owned by somebody, which is going to be expensive too.

7 Likes

I would like to see specific examples of how much movie rights cost. I suppose making those figures public would make future negotiations harder though. Perhaps something more vague like a percentage of episode budget?

4 Likes

You never know, @andlorr. Properties change hands. Times change. Maybe Nicolas Cage buys a 3rd castle and gets a little more desperate for cash.

9 Likes

Thanks for the update! Some good stuff in there (and I’m one of those lawyer types so this is all very interesting to me at least). Looking on the bright side, at least it was only 2 of 13 films that you weren’t able to get for the new season.

5 Likes

I know sometimes the host segments come out of the movie, but if you can’t get broadcast rights for the Tour films, maybe a collection of the live tour host segments could appear in the Gizmoplex.

7 Likes