Piano Sheet Music

So weird question, but I was wondering if there is piano sheet music for any of the songs on MST3K? I’m thinking in particular of the carol from Santa Claus or “Gypsy Moon” from Crash of the Moons. I’m just learning to play piano, and I thought, why not see?

4 Likes

I have not seen any such things but they wouldn’t be hard to put together.

1 Like

There was something kind of like that in the MST3K comic book:

2 Likes

I believe the chords are:

D B7 Em A7
D B7 Em A7
G Gb A Ab
A

Repeated over and over. For a beginner, I’d probably just play the D-B-E-A with the left hand, probably B-Bb-A-Ab for the “Gyp-gyp-gypsy moon” part, and then in the right play the melody. When you get a little more comfortable you can play sixths in the right hand, or arpeggiate, and in the left do a walking bass.

(I can’t really claim to be a beginning piano player but it’s not my instrument, and that’s how I’d approach it.)

2 Likes

Thanks! Do you have any advice on the carol from Santa Claus? I’m sure it’s simple, but I don’t have the knowledge to put it together.

I appreciate the help! When I say beginner, I mean I’m just on lesson two where I learn how to use my left hand. I think we’ll get to chords once I’ve learned how to play with both hands at once. :smiley:

1 Like

This one?

One note in each hand is all you need.

I threw this together in this thing called flat.io which I discovered about 10 minutes ago. I transposed the song to C, since key signatures can be intimidating when you’re starting out, and I squared-out the rhythm, because things you can sing easily without thinking a thing of it can also look intimidating in print (since they come out as dotted eighth notes and sixteenth notes, etc).

I can share this, apparently, too, if anyone wants to enhance it. It’d be kind of cool to evolve this with more and more flourishes so it could go from a “grade 1” type thing to…IDK, maestro level.

2 Likes