PLEX And Other Personal Streaming Servers

I have a Friends subscription and I used to have a FireTV and a Roku, but no more. I’m also out of HDMI ports on my TV and receiver with all the video game consoles (Xbox Series X, Wii U, Switch, Analogue Pocket dock) and disc players (high end BluRay and cromulent 4K) plugged in. I can already stream all the common services six ways from Sunday.

Alright Plexers, do you have it set up on your day-to-day PC or do you have a standalone system just for the task?

1 Like

Oh, it’s a stand-alone system. A RAID system (I have over 5 terabytes of TV content alone) to store the files and then a separate computer to act as the server.

The most time-consuming part of the process is ripping the discs. When we originally set ours up, I had hundreds of discs to rip so it took months. (These days with faster computers, it probably wouldn’t be nearly that long, but it still takes a couple of hours to rip a disc. (depending on the size of the files))

5 Likes

I believe you can also buy some stand-alone NAS boxes - Network Attached Storage - that manage your RAID and can run the Plex server. However, you’re looking at a few hundred bucks plus hard drives. That’s way more costly than many of the Roku models. Probably even more than a Roku soundbar.

2 Likes

If I had the money, I’d buy a TrueNAS Mini X+ in a heartbeat – I’ve wanted one since they were called FreeNAS, a decade or more ago, but the real wold keeps eating all my cash.

Cost isn’t even the issue with not buying a Roku. I just don’t want any more streaming-only devices. A NAS is something I want for various purposes.

1 Like

I remember in college, I worked at the CS department help desk (in the server room), and my senior year we got a 2TB storage array for the whole department. It was like two refrigerators large.

Then at work last month (for research IT at a hospital) we just got a 4PB array, also about 2 fridges large, I believe, but I’ve not personally seen it.

4 Likes