Prrojects - Crazy to tackle!

I pride myself on being self taught, and sometimes to aleviate boredom, I try to find projects to both pique my curiosity and fulfill a dream of having a item I never thought I’d have.

I built an 1:1 R2 that cost a little over $8,000, mostly because he’s all metal and that’s expensive.

but my latest crazy experiment is building a pinball machine from scratch, having NEVER seen one from the inside before. it’s just as expensive as R2 and taking just as long, but amazingly it’s nearing completion. this is it’s first power on and amazingly, no smoke!
what are your ‘crazy’ passion projects?

6 Likes

I don’t really have that, unfortunately. If I had the space to do it, I’d experiment with building my own telescope. I even found instructions online for making my own Dobsonian telescope, but I have no space to do it. :slight_smile:

I have written a couple of novels, but honestly, the craziest thing I’ve done is get my Ph.D. That took me a full five years, no end of stress and I can’t remember how much it cost me. :smiley: But I do have it.

(I very obviously inked out my name. :smiley: )

2 Likes

I have dreamed of building my own physical, unique pinball machine. However, the cost and time and space prohibit me, so I may scratch the itch with Visual Pinball and make something virtual instead.

I’ve also dreamed of coding my own RPG, which I have started. I’ll be done in about… 35 years, probably. Maybe 40.

4 Likes

Visual Pinball is fun to try, but the problem I have with it is that there seems to be no rhyme or reason. it takes ALOT of patience to find what works where and with what program. and VERY easy to get distracted when stuff DOESN’T want to work.

that being said, it’s possible to get it working with a little persistance… and there are companies out there that sell Virtual pinball cabs ready to go and will even put on custom art for you.

i’d recommend giving it a shot as it was a fun project :).