Student loans

I hope this isn’t considered political but this subject greatly affects me personally. I graduated from college back in 2001 with a BA in History and a minor in Geology. My student loans at the time of graduation was around $43000. My current balance is almost $53000. I’ve been paying on for the most part since then but had to go on forbearance a few times due to drop in income to hardship when I lost my first wife to cancer and other life issues.
So $10000 is automatically forgiven and up to $20000 if you used the Pell grant. I used the Pell grant back in the early 90s at the start of my college career so I just need to make sure they have that on file. I currently work for the Post office for 4 years and I was in the navy for 4 years so best case scenario is I just need to work 2 more years with the post office to meet the 10 years minimum working for the Federal gov’t to get the remaining balance of my student loans forgiven.

14 Likes

Does anyone know if this applies to graduate student loans too? I don’t have any loans (and I dropped out of college, go me!) but my wife owes a lot in graduate loans.

3 Likes

I know there are a lot of opinions on both sides of this. As a person with student loans…let me tell you what they never talk about!

The interest…not the interest rate. Mine is 4.25% (not terrible) it’s the way that they compound it.

they compound the interest DAILY

This means that, depending on how much you owe (they compound that while you’re in deferrment…so THAT’s FUN!) you could be paying $10-13 a DAY in interest. Pay once a month? Nope, because if you know how to compound interest, you take the interest from day 1 add it to the total owed and then compound that total again for day 2. Rinse, repeat.