Tolkien! You Know It. You Love It. Let's Talk About It!

In anticipation of the upcoming season two premiere of Rings of Power, here is your all-purpose Tolkien thread.

Talk about the books!

Talk about the films!

Talk about the RoP series! (though let’s try to keep the vitriol to a minimum. What you don’t like others do. Please keep that in mind.)

So how many times have you read LotR? (I’ve lost count)

How many different versions of the books do you own? (at least three for me)

Let’s talk!

3 Likes

As a teacher, I was able to have a reading class go over The Hobbit.

The kids loved it, and it inspired a group to come up with their own role playing game in class.

A few had a question that I did notice when reading it, too: Did you notice that The Hobbit seems to be cobbled together from a range of source material separated by time? IIRC, it sort of resembled shuffling, with the style changing from chapter to chapter, back-and-forth; with some seeming almost “out-of-place”. Like it was two books combined to make one.

2 Likes

For me, the most amazing thing about Lord of the Rings was how it pulled me in like no other book while I read it. I would typically read books before and after work, putting them away and not thinking about them while I did my job. You know, like a normal person.

But while LotR was the current thing, I wasn’t just thinking about it at work; my actual feeling was “argh, I’m missing it!” As if it were a live event or broadcast. Such a strange experience to have for a medium that moves along at the pace you set for it. I’ve never had that since.

On the opposite side of amazing, I was in a bookstore once and saw the many volumes of The History of Middle Earth, written by his son. Curious, I opened one to a random page and it literally was like “and in the fifth draft, a comma was added here, and in the sixth draft it was changed to a semicolon.” I NOPED right the heck out of that.

5 Likes