Student Loans Forgiveness Update!

Since my original Student Loan Forgiveness thread was locked, I’m starting a new one because of this update posted today in which I might actually qualify…

I graduated in 2001 so I may actually qualify for this!! :crossed_fingers:

4 Likes

I hope so! I remember when my loans got paid off, it’s an awesome feeling.

1 Like

I still find the entire process infuriating, and it doesn’t even affect me personally.

I went to college for free back in the '70s. Everything free - tuition, fees, books, room and board and incidental expenses. Didn’t pay a penny between scholarships and grants (and tuition itself was pretty low, even if I hadn’t had so much financial aid)

It infuriates me that folks can only afford college now if they’re rich or take on a lifetime of debt. My friend who’s in her mid-50s recently told me she and her husband still owe student loans. That’s deplorable. We’ve really short changed two generations of students and it makes me MAD (can you tell?)

2 Likes

I’m 54 myself and my original loan amount was 43000, now it’s 52500 so yeah enough is enough already!

2 Likes

Court rules debt forgiveness for 804,000 can go forward :+1: :clap: :raised_hands: :tada: :confetti_ball:

Welp, so far I haven’t heard back yet to see if I qualify for this debt forgiveness program, and I just received an email from Mohela that my first payment date has been scheduled for October 6. I went ahead and just paid it today :disappointed:
If I do eventually qualify, any payments made will be refunded. If for some reason I don’t qualify, then I will have to continue making payments until I reach my 10 year mark in September of 2028.

1 Like

Called Mohela again about any updates with regards to my student loans being forgiven…