Captions?

Will we be able to turn on captions? Did I miss it or does it still need to be implemented? I can’t be the only one having a hard time hearing it.

3 Likes

Captions are coming, yes! They will be added to the final version of Santo. I believe the actual episode captions are done, but we are waiting on the captions for the live event segments.

15 Likes

I imagine it must be difficult to caption both a movie dialogue and the riffing on top of it. I don’t envy whoever has that job, but I’m glad it’s happening.

6 Likes

Thank you Lesley!

3 Likes

When can we expect to see the final versions of these episodes?

1 Like

Thank goodness! It’s hard for me to understand what people are saying. I’m not very good at lip reading. Shadowrama is hard to lip read, and dubbed movies are weird.

2 Likes

ICYMI – captions are available on the “rough cut” of Episode 1301, which was made available to backers with Gizmoplex Member Passes yesterday.

4 Likes

This is why I’ve always preferred ASS or PGS captions to SRT captions. ASS has a fair amount of font flexibility (including typeface and color) that some anime fansubbers have made excellent use of that allow clear differentiation of what is being said by multiple simultaneous speakers, and PGS is just a series of artwork frames that overlay the video which can thus replicate that ASS feature (though usually doesn’t). SRT is sort of a lowest common denominator thing that offers plain text captions and little more — and that “little more” is seldom used.

3 Likes

I have an idea and I’m curious what anyone thinks; captions colour-coded to riffers so the episode doesn’t have to use up space explaining who is riffing.

5 Likes